91JqQZF1k2LWhen I bought my copy of To the One Who Conquers, I ordered it online. It was on sale, and I thought it would be much like most other devotionals. To my pleasant surprise, the meditations in this book were deep and well written, expounding the Letters to the Seven Churches in the Book of Revelation in satisfying detail. I learned a lot about the historical context of the letters. Storms’ analysis was thoughtful, insightful, and relevant. He brought the ancient text into a modern context that made it clear and concise to a modern reader who otherwise might miss lessons embedded in these portions of scripture.

Moreover, the Lord used portions of this book to greatly encourage and bless me. The Letters to the Seven Churches are all too often overlooked or skimmed over by Christians, but we need to remember that these were letters from Jesus Himself to the churches, and that we can learn so much from them, both about what God expects from us, and what He has promised. And one of the most wonderful things of all, the statements where Jesus says, “I know the things you do.” For those walking uprightly before the Lord, these words from Him are such a comfort…and to those who aren’t following Him as they should, it should serve as a wake up call – remember – He sees it all, every secret thing.

In most devotional books, the readings can be too brief and too shallow, but that’s not the case with this book. And I was glad to see an emphasis placed on obedience and living holy lives. There are a lot of newer books in which I find these things all too lacking. There’s often too much of an emphasis on grace, and too much hesitancy to speak out against sin.

I have to say I don’t agree with Storms on everything. He is Amillenialist, I am not. He did state his case in a methodical, thought out way, however, but his argument on this point didn’t carry enough weight to change my view on that matter. All in all however, I consider To the One Who Conquers to be both an excellent read, and one of my personal favourites.

