dove-advanced-hair-series-quench-absoluteI recently tried Dove’s Advanced Hair Series, Quench Absolute shampoo, conditioner, and also the creme serum. These products are advertised as being more geared towards curly hair, and claim to be very moisturising. They also claim that when used as a three step system, these products improve manageability for up to three days.

I’ll start with the shampoo. The Quench Absolute shampoo smelled lovely and lathered up fairly well. It felt like a quality shampoo, I’ll give it that. The conditioner seemed quite thick and I didn’t love the scent as much, but I’m more concerned with effectiveness than scent. These two products alone were pleasant in use and rinsed out well. The shampoo and conditioner did leave my hair nicely moisturised and not dry looking, or feeling. I also noticed less frizz, always a plus.

My experience with the creme serum is that it can be difficult to work out the right amount you need, which requires some experimenting. In every case, however, I found this 21545142product really weighed my hair down, and by the next day my hair was looking quite greasy. My personal experience with these products is that the shampoo and conditioner alone are sufficient for my own hair. My hair is around a medium thickness and more on the wavy end of the spectrum, however, and doesn’t need the amount of taming that some lovely curls need.

If your curls are stubborn and difficult to manage, the creme serum will probably be of far more use to you, than it was to me. As for the shampoo and conditioner, I do recommend those, especially if your scalp is not sensitive or prone to dandruff and build-up issues.  They apply well, smell nice, and work very well.

