Mi Xiang Bug Bitten

When I opened the pouch of this Mi Xiang Bug Bitten Oolong tea from Fong Mong tea, my first impression of the dry aroma was that it’s somewhat similar to a Wuyi rock tea, with a roasty woody fragrance.

Here’s a little information about it’s production from Fong Mong Tea’s website:

Mi Xiang Oolong, growing from organic natural ecological management tea plantation, with intentional nonintervention, being bitten by leafhoppers, coordinating traditional Taiwanese heavy-fermented skill of tea-making, the natural tea leaves increase their individual sweet flavor. 

As I usually do with oolong, I tried this both with flash steeping and also with longer infusions. For the flash steeping I used a gaiwan and approximately 2g of leaf. I rinsed the leaves, and then began infusing using 45ml of hot, but not boiling, water, and an infusion time of 20 seconds. The liquor had golden amber colour from the first infusion, and the aroma was again, similar to a rock tea but also different, with a layer of sweetness.

The flavour was rich and complex, with honey sweetness but also warm roast notes like charcoal, woodiness, and minerals. The mouthfeel was rich, smooth yet somewhat astringent with a lingering aftertaste and leaving some salivation-inducing dryness on the back of the tongue and throat.

To me, the aftertaste was the standout feature of this tea, which carried on over all 8 infusions. I added 15 seconds with each infusion after the first, and found this tea impressively consistent until the very end. The only real detectable change was the slightest mellowing and sweetening over time with a reduction in astringency. This final infusion I allowed to sit for a lengthy several minutes, and it was an extremely smooth and satisfying finish.

Using my teapot method, I used 4g of leaf with 6oz of water for a more concentrated cup than I’d normally brew. It was well worth it however for the intensity of flavour. This tea is a real treat, and very well enjoyed with no added sweetener. You can find Mi Xiang Bug Bitten Oolong Tea on Fong Mong Tea’s website here and try it for yourself.

(Sample provided for review. All opinions expressed are my own.)

Other Fong Mong Tea reviews:

Tea Review: Qing Tian Xiang Taiwanese Green Style Dong Ding Oolong by Fong Mong Tea
Tea Review: Healthy GABA from Fong Mong Tea
Tea Review: Roasted TGY from Fong Mong Tea
Tea Review: Pekoe Gold Oriental Beauty from Fong Mong Tea
Tea Review: Gaoshan Qingxiang Taiwan Lishan High Mt. Oolong from Fong Mong Tea