gn

It’s not every night I settle in with a soothing bedtime blend, but I was curious about ‘Good Night‘ by Chai Castle. This is a fascinating melange of valerian root, passion flower herb, lemon balm leaves, peppermint leaves, fennel, caraway, aniseed, rose hip peels, rosemary leaves and marigold petals.

Some of these ingredients are unique to me in this combination, not often seeing them pop up in other tisanes I’ve tried. I’m more used to seeing bedtime tisanes leaning more floral with lavender and chamomile. This tisane is more herbal, with ingredients more commonly seen on my spice rack than in my teacup. This should be interesting!

gn2

The aroma itself is quite soothing. I’m trying to remind myself not to expect a floral flavour profile from this one as I prepare it using water near a boil, with a teaspoon of this blend going in an 8oz cup. I steeped this tisane for 5 minutes. It smells somewhat savoury, reminding me of homemade soup base, but with a minty twist.

Good Night tastes quite savoury to me as well, with a bit of tangy sweetness from the mint and rosehips. There’s a subtle note of liquorice in here too with a hint of the lemon balm. I think this is actually one of the more unique tisanes I’ve tried, and it takes some time to familiarize myself with it. Do I dare sweeten it? I did try it sweetened, as well. Maybe it’s better as is – that part is up to your personal preference.

This is a calming, warming, and soothing blend, and almost seems to calm and settle the stomach, too. A great tisane to relax with before getting some shuteye. You can find Good Night at Chai Castle‘s website right here and try it for yourself!

(Sample provided for review. All opinions expressed are my own.)

Other Chai Castle reviews:

Tea Review: Green Earl Grey by Chai Castle
Tea Review: Wintertime by Chai Castle
Tea Review: Coconut Almond by Chai Castle