Fu Shu Shan 1

For oolong connoisseurs, Fu Shou Shan Oolong is a gem. This is the most prized Taiwanese oolong, grown at an altitude of 2,500m. The dry leaf of particular batch smells fresh, crisp, and richly floral, verdant and vegetal.

Fu Shu Shan 2

Using a gaiwan I rinsed 3g of leaf with hot water before proceeding to infuse. I used water at approximatey 90 degrees Celsius, and with 30ml of water to start. As the leaves open I add to the water amount in 15ml increments.

I began with a 10 second infusion, and added 5 seconds to each following infusion. The liquor begins a pale straw yellow that deepens a bit over the course of infusing. The flavours are fairly consistent from beginning to end, but there are some shifts in flavour. My first impression of the flavours are floral, vegetal, edamame, minerals, and a light, clean roast flavour. The mouthfeel is smooth and buttery, and by the third infusion I notice that familiar squeaky quality and there’s a lovely lingering aftertaste.

By the fifth infusion the floral note strengthens, then begins to fade into a perfume note. By the eighth infusion I’m tasting more minerals and the other flavours are slowly dissipating. I made the tenth infusion the final one, letting it sit for a few minutes before enjoying the final, mellowed cup of this beautiful oolong.

This tea can also be enjoyed ‘grandpa style’ in a teapot with a larger water amount and longer infusion time, but I feel this method loses some of the nuance of this tea’s flavours.

You can find this lovely Fu Shou Shan Oolong from Tea From Taiwan on their website here.

(Sample provided for review. All opinions expressed are my own.)

Other Tea From Taiwan Reviews:

Tea Review: Zhong Shu Hu Oolong Tea from Tea From Taiwan
Tea Review: Li Shan Cui Feng Oolong from Tea From Taiwan
Tea Review: Da Yu Ling by Tea From Taiwan
Tea Review: Hua Gang by Tea from Taiwan
Tea Review: Long Feng Xia by Tea From Taiwan